RSS

Confessions of a Disorganized Mom

22 Jan

When my oldest daughter (now age 7) was a baby, my friend asked me what time she normally took a nap. I was clueless. “Whenever she falls asleep,” was my likely answer.

I’m often regarded by clients and associates as the Queen of Organization. As the creator of such a detailed time-management system like the Baby Love Carebook, how could I be anything but a type-A, Martha Stewart-like mother with all her ducks in a very straight row?

The truth is, I’ve always hated routines. I’ve always been very laid back and flexible. I like to do things when I feel like it. I’ve never had a designated “laundry day” or “grocery day.” My professional life has always revolved around deadlines and details. I’ve developed my own method of paying attention to the smallest detail in an organized fashion, but waiting until the last minute to get anything accomplished.

Imagine my anxiety as a new mom when I realized that babies don’t enjoy such a leisurely approach to living. In fact, babies can be downright crabby when they are expected to eat at 10 a.m. one day, and 10:30 a.m. the next. Try to put them down for a nap at 1 p.m. some days, 2 p.m. on others and they cry … a lot!

Now that I’m raising three children, I know better. I firmly believe that children are happier with a consistent routine. However, I also know that all children are unique. My oldest daughter loves a big breakfast, my middle girl prefers to wait a few hours in the morning before she will eat anything. It’s up to you as parents to discover and nurture the best routines for your children.

Routines did not come naturally to me, that’s why the Baby Love Carebook was invented. I found it was the only way to keep myself on track. Writing down my baby’s ideal routine helped ensure that I would stick to it. And keeping all our information in one place made me more likely to reach out to others for help when I needed a break. Please visit www.babylovecarebook.com for new products and promotions, including the Doctor Diary for tracking all your doctor visits. You’ll love this helpful addition to your Carebook! Make this the year you become an organized parent, and take advantage of our new, lower prices for 2010.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Confessions of a Disorganized Mom

Leave a Reply

 
